Interior Design (BFA-ID) Professional Licensure

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interior Design (BFA-ID)

The Woodbury University Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interior Design (BFA-ID) professional degree program is accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA), an independent, non-profit accrediting organization for interior design education programs at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The Woodbury University BFA-ID program is designed to meet the California educational requirements for certification in California. Not all states regulate the profession of Interior Design.

As of 2023, Woodbury University’s MID program meets the educational requirements for registration/certification in the 26 U.S. States where legislation exists, as well as the 24 U.S. states where legislation is not present.

Woodbury University’s BFA-ID program also meets the education requirements for registration/certification in Washington DC, Puerto Rico, and Canadian provinces. Woodbury University prepares graduates to complete both the NCIDQ and the IDEX exams and we will assist all students in determining the requirements for practice in their location of choice.

For more information, please contact Admissions at [email protected] or 818-252-5221.

States/Territories for which Woodbury’s BFA-ID program MEETS the educational requirements for licensure or certification
  • Alabama (AL) *
  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • Arkansas (AR) *
  • California (CA) *
  • Colorado (CO)
  • Connecticut (CT) *
  • Delaware (DE)
  • Florida (FL) *
  • Georgia (GA) *
  • Hawaii (HI)
  • Idaho (ID)
  • Illinois (IL) *
  • Indiana (IN) *
  • Iowa (IA) *
  • Kansas (KS)
  • Kentucky (KY) *
  • Louisiana (LA) *
  • Maine (ME) *
  • Maryland (MD) *
  • Massachusetts (MA)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • Minnesota (MN) *
  • Mississippi (MS) *
  • Missouri (MO)
  • Montana (MT)
  • Nebraska (NE)
  • Nevada (NV) *
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ) *
  • New Mexico (NM) *
  • New York (NY) *
  • North Carolina (NC) *
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Ohio (OH)
  • Oklahoma (OK) *
  • Oregon (OR)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • Rhode Island (RI)
  • South Carolina (SC)
  • South Dakota (SD)
  • Tennessee (TN) *
  • Texas (TX) *
  • Utah (UT) *
  • Vermont (VT)
  • Virginia (VA) *
  • Washington (WA)
  • West Virginia (WV)
  • Wisconsin (WI) *
  • Wyoming (WY)
U.S. and International Territories
  • District of Columbia (DC) *
  • Puerto Rico (PR) *
  • All Canadian Provinces

*Legislation exists in this location

States/Territories for which Woodbury’s BFA-ID program DOES NOT MEET the educational requirements for licensure or certification


States/Territories for which Woodbury HAS NOT YET DETERMINED whether the BFA-ID program meets the educational requirements for licensure or certification
  • American Samoa (AS)
  • Guam (GU)
  • Northern Mariana Islands (MP)
  • Virgin Islands (VI)

Additional Notes

The California Council for Interior Design Certification (CCIDC) is the non-profit board that administers the Certified Interior Designer Title Act with government oversight from the California Department of Consumer Affairs under the California Business & Professional Codes Section 5800-5812 (1991).  CCIDC determines eligibility to ‘Certified Interior Designer’ in the State of California and administers the IDEX California examination.

Council for Interior Design Qualifications (CIDQ) administers the NCIDQ exam.  Passage of the NCIDQ Examination is required for interior design licensure/registration in every regulated jurisdiction within the United States and Canada, except for California.  The exam covers seven areas that capture the core competencies of interior design: building systems, codes, construction standards, contract administration, design application, professional practice and project coordination.

CIDQ is comprised of U.S. state boards and Canadian provincial associations that regulate the profession of interior design. In the United States and Canada, interior design is regulated through two different types of law: Practice Acts and Title Acts. Jurisdictions with Practice Acts require certification and registration in order to practice in that jurisdiction. In jurisdictions with Title Acts, registration with the jurisdiction is optional, and comes with a protected title. In some Title Act jurisdictions, additional practice rights, such as permitting privileges, are offered to registrants.

The CIDQ Legislative Map shows the different types of regulation adopted by each North American jurisdiction.

Translate »