Woodbury University Student Team Honored at 46th Annual LABC Architectural Awards

A student team from Woodbury University was honored at the 46th Annual Los Angeles Architectural Awards, hosted by the Los Angeles Business Council (LABC) on June 16 at the Beverly Hilton. The event, which drew an audience of 500 leading design and building professionals, along with top city officials, recognized 35 architectural and design projects, including Woodbury University, for setting new standards of design excellence, innovation and sustainability.

“The winners of this year’s Architectural Awards demonstrate how exceptional architectural designs can inspire our community and invigorate our city while also addressing critical policy needs,” said Mary Leslie, President of the Los Angeles Business Council.

The Julius Shulman Emerging Talent Award and scholarship was presented to the Woodbury University team for developing a winning program to repurpose the Los Angeles City Mall in the Civic Center. Six participating schools competed to redesign the site with additional City office space and community amenities.

The members of the winning Woodbury University student team are Breeanna Garcia (BArch program), Nicholas Rados (BArch program), and Eric Eaken (MArch program).

Their project, entitled Threading the Diamond in Downtown Los Angeles, suggests the redevelopment of the “10 Minute Diamond” urban plan for the Los Angeles City Mall by establishing the next urban way point. That urban way point may finally thread the lifeblood of Downtown Los Angeles through the Pueblo and beyond to Montecito Heights and eastward towards the developing Industrial District.

Woodbury University Student Team Honored at 46th Annual LABC Architectural Awards
Left (Breeanna Garcia), center (Nick Rados), right (Eric Eaken)

More than 200 projects competing in categories ranging from education and healthcare to housing and commercial office space vied for this year’s Architectural Awards. Juries representing a cross section of industry experts selected the winners, recognizing the entire team of architects, contractors, project managers and developers who collaborated to create and build the visionary project.

“The Architectural Awards are about much more than beautiful design,” said Los Angeles City Controller Ron Galperin, who helped honor the design jury. “These awards reflect how design innovation can have a meaningful impact on the lives of Angelenos and help lead our city to a more sustainable, productive future.”

This year’s Grand Prize went to The Broad, which is widely recognized for its striking design as well as its LEED Gold certification. The Chairman’s Award, presented by LABC Chair Nadine Watt, went to three L.A.-area buildings — CBRE, the Bloc, and the Haworth Showroom — that are early-adopters of the WELL Building Standard, the world’s first building standard focused on human health and wellness.

Beijing-born architect Ma Yansong, who is regarded as an important leader in the new generation of architects, delivered the keynote address. Yansong, founder of MAD architects, is known for cultivating a sense of community and nature through architecture.

A full list of honorees as well as pictures of the winning projects is available at labusinesscouncil.org.

Translate »