Architecture Students Take National Honors

Congratulations to School of Architecture students Teagan Castellon and Brian Diaz. Their design, [Re]Purposed, was awarded third place in the 2011-2012 ACSA/AISC Steel Design Student Competition – Open (Category II), Student Design Competition. The project, completed in a studio led by professors Eric Olsen and Gerard Smulevich, will be exhibited at the ACSA 101st Annual Meeting in San Francisco, March 2013; and at the American Institute of Architects’ National Convention in Denver, June 2013. A total of 21 architecture students from universities across the U.S. were honored in the 12th annual competition. Administered by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) and sponsored by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), the program challenges architecture students, working individually or in teams, to explore a variety of design issues related to the use of steel in design and construction. A total of $14,000 in cash prizes was awarded to the winning students and their faculty sponsors.